Tim Walker Q & A

Updated: Mar 28, 2019

#author #authorinterview


What is your name?


Tim Walker


When did you first realise you wanted to be a writer?


I was a journalist for many years but tried writing short stories in 2012 when recovering from health problems. Once I started creative writing, I couldn't stop.


What genre books do you write?


Historical fiction mainly, but also children's books that I write with my daughter.


What is the name of your book/books?


My latest book is Arthur Dux Bellorum, book four in my historical series, A Light in the Dark Ages. This is my re-imagining of the King Arthur story based on historical research.


Were there alternate endings you considered?


Yes. In the two previous books in the series, the main character dies at the end. This time, my critique/beta reader partner suggested I might want to consider letting him live! I agreed, and decided to plan a two-book approach to my King Arthur story.


If you could tell your younger writing self anything, what would it be?


I was already adept at research, but I'm impulsive by nature and often fudge on planning. I would tell my younger self to 'plot it and plan it' - it saves a lot of time.


Does your family support your career as a writer?


Yes, my family are supportive as they know it has given me purpose and motivation to get through a difficult time.


What’s the most difficult thing about writing characters from the opposite sex?


I fretted about writing realistic, rounded and believable female characters. Again, my critique/beta reading (female) partner helped out by challenging my weaker characterisations. I think gender balance in a writer's support team is vital.


Does writing energise or exhaust you?


It energises me at the start as I enjoy the creative process. I tend to get mentally exhausted near the end and have to push myself to get to the end.


What items do you surround yourself with when you write?


Stationary and reference books - I like leafing through a physical dictionary and thesaurus. I have some toys as cheerleaders and the wall behind my desk has a forest scene wallpaper so I can sit back and search for inspiration through the trees.


What is your favourite genre of books to read?


Historical fiction - I like to learn what I can from other authors in my genre.


What is your favourite childhood book?


The Eagle of the Ninth by Rosemary Sutcliffe. This fabulous book started my love of historical fiction.


Do you have a favourite author or one who inspires you to write?


I'd love to write with the confidence of Bernard Cornwell and the genius of Hillary Mantel.


What words of wisdom would you give to someone who wants to be an author?


Write about what you know and believe in yourself.


Visit Tim's website here.






In the year 410 the last Roman Governor of Britannia, Lucius, sailed away from the port of Londinium, never to return. Bishop Guithelin’s desire for a smooth transition in authority to tribal chief Mandubracius leads only to disappointment. Guided by visions from God, Guithelin undertakes a hazardous journey to a neighbouring country to seek assistance from a noble and Christian ruler.

Abandoned is the starting point for an adventure that sets Briton nobles against each other and a foreign prince, whilst keeping one eye on raiders who spill onto the shores and over Hadrian’s Wall. Britannia’s abandonment by Rome presented opportunity for some and anguish and misery for others, as the island slowly adjusted to self-rule.

Through the chaos, heroes emerge, including half-Roman auxiliary commander, Marcus Pendragon, who organises the defence of his town from deadly raiders intent on plunder and murder. Guithelin does his best at diplomacy, never giving up hope for a stable and Godly leader to rule over the tribal chiefs and provide a protective shield for the fearful people of Britannia. But is the preening Prince Constantine the right man? Marcus fights to protect his family from a range of opportunistic enemies, and by so doing establishes a legacy that will lead to his son, Uther, and grandson, Arthur, becoming kings of Britannia.

Abandoned is book one in a series – A LIGHT IN THE DARK AGES – and is followed by Ambrosius: Last of the Romans and Uther’s Destiny, the latter a winner of the One Stop Fiction Five Star Book Award.


Amazon com link. Amazon co uk link.




Britannia lies open to barbarian invasions as it slowly adjusts to life after Roman rule. Cruel high king Vortigern has seized control and chosen to employ Saxons in his mercenary army. But who is the master and who the puppet?

Enter Ambrosius Aurelianus, a Roman tribune on a secret mission to Britannia. He is returning to the land where, as a child, he witnessed the murder of his noble father and grew up under the watchful eyes of an adoptive family in the town of Calleva Atrebatum. He is thrown into the politics of the time, as tribal chiefs eye each other with suspicion whilst kept at heel by the high king.

Ambrosius finds that the influence of Rome is fast becoming a distant memory, as Britannia reverts to its Celtic tribal roots. He joins forces with his adoptive brother, Uther Pendragon, and they are guided by their shrewd father, Marcus, as he senses his destiny is to lead the Britons to a more secure future.

Ambrosius: Last of the Romans is an historical fiction novel set in the early Dark Ages, a time of myths and legends that builds to the greatest legend of all – King Arthur and his knights.


Amazon com link. Amazon co uk link.



Late fifth century Britannia recoils in shock at the murder of charismatic High King, Ambrosius Aurelianus, and looks to his brother and successor, Uther, to continue his work in leading the resistance to barbarian invaders. Uther’s destiny as a warrior king seems set until his world is turned on its head when his burning desire to possess the beautiful Ygerne leads to conflict. Could the fate of his kingdom hang in the balance as a consequence?

Court healer and schemer, Merlyn, sees an opportunity in Uther’s lustful obsession to fulfil the prophetic visions that guide him. He is encouraged on his mission by druids who align their desire for a return to ancient ways with his urge to protect the one destined to save the Britons from invaders and lead them to a time of peace and prosperity. Merlyn must use his wisdom and guile to thwart the machinations of an enemy intent on foiling his plans.

Meanwhile, Saxon chiefs Octa and Ælla have their own plans for seizing the island of Britannia and forging a new colony of Germanic tribes. Can Uther rise above his family problems and raise an army to oppose them?

Book three in A Light in the Dark Ages series, Uther’s Destiny is an historical fiction novel set in the Fifth Century - a time of myths and legends that builds to the greatest legend of all – King Arthur and his knights.


Amazon com link. Amazon co uk link.



From the ruins of post-Roman Britain, a warrior arises to unite a troubled land.

Britain in the late Fifth Century is a troubled place – riven with tribal infighting and beset by invaders in search of plunder and settlement. King Uther is dead, and his daughter, Morgana, seizes the crown for her infant son, Mordred. Merlyn’s attempt to present Arthur as the true son and heir of Uther is scorned, and the bewildered teenager finds himself in prison. Here our story begins…

Arthur finds friends in unexpected quarters and together they flee. Travelling through a fractured landscape of tribal conflict and suspicion, they attempt to stay one step ahead of their pursuers, whilst keeping a wary eye on Saxon invaders menacing the shoreline. Arthur’s reputation as a fearsome warrior grows as he learns the harsh lessons needed to survive and acquire the skills of a dux bellorum, a lord of war.

Tim Walker’s Arthur Dux Bellorum is a fresh look at the Arthurian legend, combining myth, history and gripping battle scenes. Although in a series, it can be read as a standalone novel.

Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Mathew Harffy will enjoy Walker’s A Light in the Dark Ages series and its newest addition – Arthur Dux Bellorum.


Amazon com link. Amazon co uk link.












follow me
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
  • Amazon - Grey Circle

© 2023 by DO IT YOURSELF. Proudly created with Wix.com

Meet Michelle
Loves Books and Painting ,
wolves, old castles, cheese, and All Things fantasy. 
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now